Marijuana Doctors
A New Kind Of Healthcare

CT Marijuana Qualification

Updated on January 7, 2019.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

Connecticut Medical Marijuana Qualification

Who Qualifies for Medicinal Marijuana in Connecticut

House Bill 5389 was signed by Governor Dannel P. Malloy, on May 31, 2012, effectively allowing a qualifying patient to register with the Department of Consumer Protection, prior to engaging in the palliative use of marijuana, thereby protecting the patient from arrest or prosecution, or being penalized in any manner, or denied any right or privilege.

The maximum amount allowed by Connecticut for patients per month is 2.5 ounces — unless otherwise directed by the evaluating physician.

A qualifying Connecticut patient shall not be subject to arrest or prosecution, penalized in any manner, including, but not limited to, being subject to any civil penalty, or denied any right or privilege, including, but not limited to, being subject to any disciplinary action by a professional licensing board, for the palliative use of marijuana. Additionally, a qualifying patient is not permitted to be an inmate confined in a correctional institution or facility under the supervision of the Connecticut Department of Corrections.

What Ailments Qualify For Medical Cannabis in Connecticut

Patients in Connecticut diagnosed with one of the following severe, debilitating, or life-threatening medical conditions, are afforded legal protection under the Connecticut Medical Marijuana law, as per House Bill 5389.

For patients under the age of 18 years, the following conditions will effectively qualify:

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information
sidebar image

How to Become A Medical Marijuana Patient in Connecticut

To Qualify for Connecticut’s Medical Marijuana Program:

  1. Patients must be 18 years of age. If under 18, Approved Caregiver must accompany and assist you throughout the process.
  2. Patients must be certified by their physician with a Qualifying Condition. (Must be certified before starting the registration process)
  3. Patients must create a DAS Business Network Account to access the online certification system.
  4. Submit application including your Authorized Caregiver (if applicable), Proof of Identity, Proof of Residency, Photo & $100.00 Application Fee (Caregiver Application is an addition $25.00). Department does not accept Cash Payment. If Mailing Documents, please send to Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection Medical Marijuana Program: 165 Capitol Ave, MS# 88MMP Hartford, CT 06106-1630.

Registration Certificate expires one (1) year from the physician’s certification date.

Medical Marijuana Registration Guidelines

Under Title 21a-408-6 of the Department of Consumer Protection’s Guidelines for Palliative Use for Marijuana, there are guidelines set forth for patients and primary caregivers looking to complete medical marijuana registrations. In order to register, the law states that a patient must submit:

  • Written certification issues by physician
  • Proof of residency
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of qualifying patient’s age
  • A photograph of qualifying patient that is currently, passport-sized, taken against a white backdrop, at least 2″x2″ in size, and taken no more than 30 days before application submission
  • Caregiver form (if necessary)
  • Caregiver’s proof of identity
  • Proof of caregiver’s age
  • Photograph of caregiver
  • Payment of appropriate fees
  • Name, address, and telephone number of the dispensary facility from which the patient will purchase medical marijuana

For more information about this law, please check out this resource on registration guidelines and qualifying materials for application.

Connecticut Medical Marijuana Physicians Board

The Department of Consumer Protection established an eight-member Board of Physicians consisting of physicians or surgeons, who are board-certified in one of the following specialties: neurology, pain medicine, pain management, medical oncology, psychiatry, infectious disease, family medicine or gynecology.
The board is required to recommend additional medical conditions, medical treatments, or diseases to be added to the list of medical conditions, to the Department of Consumer Protection. Such recommendations require approval by the Department and are implemented by the adoption of a regulation.

Medical Marijuana Access in Connecticut

Some medical marijuana patients will claim they have a doctor’s prescription for medical marijuana, but marijuana prescriptions are in fact illegal. The federal government classifies marijuana as a schedule I drug. Therefore doctors are unable to prescribe marijuana to their patients, and medical marijuana patients cannot go to a pharmacy to fill a prescription for medical marijuana. Instead, medical marijuana doctors in Connecticut will supply patients with a medical marijuana recommendation in compliance with state law.

According to Connecticut medical marijuana laws, the maximum monthly amount allowable, is 2.5 ounces, unless indicated otherwise by the patient’s physician. The state of Connecticut does NOT allow for the purchase or sale of medical cannabis.

quote icon

Finally, a helpful & informative website! answered all of my medical marijuana questions and helped me schedule an appointment with an accredited doctor in my area.~Susan - Denver, CO