Updated on January 15, 2019. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Patients in Colorado diagnosed with one of the following severe, debilitating, or life-threatening medical conditions, are afforded legal protection under the Colorado Medical Marijuana law, as per Ballot Amendment 20:
Patients must be a Colorado Resident with a valid Colorado I.D. as proof of residency. If you do not have a Colorado I.D. an out of state I.D., passport, or other photo I.D. with proof of residency such as bank statement, utility bill, etc. is acceptable.
Obtain an authenticated, written certification from a physician that is licensed in the state of Colorado, that states that you have been diagnosed with a debilitating condition and that you would likely receive benefit from medical marijuana — *Find a certified medical marijuana physician in Colorado
Patients must obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from a primary care physician describing their diagnosis and bring these records with to their marijuana evaluation appointment — *Learn how to request your medical records
Upon receiving a physician’s medical marijuana recommendation, patient’s MUST register with the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, to obtain a Medical Marijuana card. The cost is $90, and the application process may take up to 30 days.